“The Night Before”- Review:

Seth Rogen. One of my favorite comedic actors in Hollywood, is bringing us a Christmas movie this year. He teams up with his longtime writing collaborator Evan Goldberg (This is The End, Pineapple Express, The Interview, Neighbors). This film also re teams Jonathan Levine and Joseph Gordon Levitt with Rogen, who worked on 50/50 together. Seems like a winning formula, and on top of all that you throw Anthony Mackie in the mix.

I’m all about Seth Rogen, Funny People not withstanding. Neighbors was one of the funniest films of 2014, as was The Interview. With Neighbors 2 on the way next year, can Rogen continue to strike gold with this movie and his dramatic performance in Jobs also this year? This could be a great year for him.

Fun from start to finish. There isn’t a moment in this where I wasn’t laughing hysterically. JGL, Rogen, and Mackie are brilliant together. Their chemistry is what holds this movie together. I bought the story, it’s a bit clichè and you know where it’s going, but the jokes are what keep you invested, and so do the performances.

The only negative I see with this movie is that it’s very Seth Rogen. What I mean is that if you aren’t into that schtick then you won’t like this. If you couldn’t tell, I am very much into Rogen’s comedy, so I loved this film.

I can see this movie becoming a movie you watch around the holidays. Maybe not with the family for obvious reasons, but if you’re just hanging out and you pop this in with some buddies you’ll all have a great time. Levine always interjects some heart as well, it was just the right amount of humor and heart for me. I say this is worth a watch.

Leave a Reply

