“The Last Witch Hunter”- Review:

 

Oh Vin. The will you have to get a new franchise off the ground is commendable. He hangs his hat on the Fast franchise, but Riddick hasn’t reached that level, and he’s going to try to bring xXx back after he left that franchise in the dust 14 years ago. Will Last Witch Hunter bring Vin some success outside of fast cars and The Rock?

Well I maybe in the minority here, but I thought this was a lot of fun. Is it a Sorkin script? Hell no. I just wanted to watch Vin Diesel kill some witches and that’s what I got. There’s no rich mythology here, just some campy fun.

Michael Cain is in this movie for all of five minutes. I was disappointed by that, I really wanted to see Cain and Diesel kick some ass together. I can settle for his side kick Chloe (Rose Leslie). YOU KNOW NOTHING JON SNOW! It was good to see her getting some work, hopefully this franchise takes off for her sake.

I also liked the world building, going back to the past and seeing that whole witch hunt happening, and seeing Kaulder (Diesel) trying to kill the queen was fun. I’m a sucker for these fantasy, action, adventure films.

I’d like for the studio to find a better screenwriter to write a sequel. There is a great world in this movie, let’s have someone bring it to life. If you’re looking for a fun time at the theater this weekend, check this movie out.

Leave a Reply

